Exploring my personal beliefs on education.

This week’s blog assignment was for me to look back at a response to a question posed 7 weeks ago about how I think I learn the best.  My original post was as follows.

I have thought about the way I learn previously because I went to college for a degree in education. During my classes we discussed metacognition and I found it interesting to figure out the best way I learn to help make college easier for me. I have found that I am a Visual and Kinesthetic learner. I enjoy hands on work or relating subjects to everyday life, this seems to help me grasp the idea quicker than other methods. I find that Behaviorism is a theory that should be used with learning. As Ertmer, P. A., & Newby, T. J. (1993) explain “Behaviorism focuses on the importance of the consequences of those performances and contend that responses that are followed by reinforcement are more likely to reoccur in the future” (p.55). I feel that rewards and consequences are present in everyday life and it is one of the first methods we as human begin to learn by. If you touch a hot pan and burn yourself you are less likely to touch the pan again. When educating others or trying to learn something myself, I find that having a reward or something special at the end helps to focus on learning to achieve the prize. The other theory that I enjoy is Individual Constructivism. This theory states that as babies we have no knowledge and as we grow we construct are own knowledge base through experiences. Ormrod, J., Schunk, D., & Gredler, M. (2009) further explain the theory by stating “The goal is to shift the focus from correctly replacing the teacher’s words and actions to the student’s successful organization of his or her own experiences” (p.18). I enjoy this theory because I use my experiences in guiding my actions in everyday life. I also know that my experiences will not be the same as the person next to me so I need to remember to be open to the possibility of multiple right answers. I feel that knowing how you learn and how others learn helps greatly in the Instructional Design field. This knowledge will allow you to create strong trainings or curriculum that will help accommodate the students to learn by catering to the different styles and theories of learning.

References:

Ertmer, P. A., & Newby, T. J. (1993). Behaviorism, cognitivism, constructivism: Comparing critical features from an instructional design perspective. Performance Improvement Quarterly, 6(4),50-71.

Ormrod, J., Schunk, D., & Gredler, M. (2009). Learning theories and instruction (Laureate custom edition). New York: Pearson.

So after reviewing my previous thought I am to reflect and see if I have changed in my views towards my own personal learning.

  • Now that you have a deeper understanding of the different learning theories and learning styles, how has your view on how you learn changed?

I feel that my views of how I learn have not changed, but they have expanded. I still feel the behaviorism is a big key in the classroom. However, with my new knowledge I think I would be more specific and say that I would respond better to a gamification of behaviorism. I feel that an In-Class Economy or Token Economy would inspire me to work hard so that I could use points earned in times of need if I was allowed them to waive a homework assignment or to better my grade in some fashion. I am always worried about not being able to finish all my work due to illness or so sort of emergency and having the option to save points and use them in a pinch would be excellent. The use of Badges would help me understand upcoming assignments and give me an idea of what to look forward to in classes to come. I still enjoy Constructivism because I feel that we all learn differently and use our own experiences to help us connect new information to previously learn topics. I would add Connectivism to my personally used learning styles. I feel that I learn a lot from connecting with others and getting their perspective on similar issues. The use of connecting to others blogs and finding websites that offer tips and tricks also helps me with finding new ways to accelerate my learning.

  • What have you learned about the various learning theories and learning styles over the past weeks that can further explain your own personal learning preferences?

I learned that I need goals and rewards to keep me motivated in class. I feel that I am more inspired by my grades that I receive now than when I was in High School. I feel that I learn more when I am using my personal experiences to help me understand new information and that my instructor can help me more by guiding me on my path towards the correct answer instead of just giving me the answer. Finally I realized that connecting with others and discussing my thoughts and ideas on a subject helps me fully construct my personal beliefs on the subject. Also listening to others ideas and feedback to my beliefs helps me see the problem in different perspectives and adds new insight to my learning.

  • What role does technology play in your learning (i.e., as a way to search for information, to record information, to create, etc.)?

Technology plays a larger role now then at the beginning of this course. I use to only use it to look up ideas. I now use it to connect with others and learn from them. I still look up ideas but i then look into what technology is needed to implement those ideas. I now follow blogs that discuss gamification which is an area I have found great interest in. I use sites to create mind maps to help me stay organized and I even ask my peers for recommendations on how to use the technology I have to better my learning experiences.

 

So as you can see my views have not changed as they have expanded to included theories and styles I did not know of previously.

 

 

Leave a Reply

